Wavosaur home Wavosaur
Wavosaur free audio editor support forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Wavosaur doesn't handle VST plug-in *dealys* correctly

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wavosaur Forum Index -> VST plugins talk
 
Author Message
MuldeR



Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 11:56 pm    Post subject: Wavosaur doesn't handle VST plug-in *dealys* correctly Reply with quote

Hello!

I have written a VST plug-in and wanted to test it with Wavosaur. However, the whole audio gets shifted when using my VST plug-in in Wavosaur, i.e. there will be some silence inserted at the beginning of the file and the end of the file will be cut off. This does not happen in WaveLab, GoldWave or Adobe Audition. So it seems Wavosour simply ignores the "initial delay" set by my VST plug-in via setInitialDelay() function! Can you please explain why Wavosaur behaves like this? Is it simply a bug (incomplete VST support) or is it intentional? And in the latter case, is there anything I could do on my side to workaround the issue?

WaveLab Before/After (good):
* http://i.imgur.com/C8PKd2s.png
* http://i.imgur.com/VgESvUE.png
* http://i.imgur.com/AJavRME.png

GoldWave Before/After (good):
* http://i.imgur.com/q0UmVMa.png
* http://i.imgur.com/IPCROuf.png

Wavosaur Before/After (shifted+truncated):
* http://i.imgur.com/TPWbCBT.png
* http://i.imgur.com/Z8qoceA.png


Thanks in advance!


BTW: I'm using Wavosaur v1.1.0.0 and the VST SDK v2.4 rev2.

BTW 2: I also tried implementing getGetTailSize(), in the hope it would at least prevent cutting off the end of the file. But it doesn't look like Wavosaur ever calls it.


[EDIT]

To make this problem more clear, hopefully, I have created some GIF animations:
Wavosaur v1.1.0.0 VST Problem


Last edited by MuldeR on Sun Sep 14, 2014 3:36 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poivre



Joined: 15 Dec 2006
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have the same problem with the SIR VST reverb
it had some buffers of latency
i just insert silence at end before applying it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MuldeR



Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for reply!

poivre wrote:
i have the same problem with the SIR VST reverb
it had some buffers of latency
i just insert silence at end before applying it


Well, yes. As a workaround, in order to avoid truncation, we can padd the audio file with some silence before the processing.

But the underlying problem is that Wavosaur doesn't handle delays correctly!

If a VST plug-in reports a delay of N samples to the host application (and my plug-in does!), then the host application (audio editor) is supposed to do the following:
  • Discard the first N samples of output from the plug-in
  • Feed the plug-in with N additional "dummy" samples at the very end, in order to flush the pending outputs

My experience, since I started developing VST plug-in's, is that some audio editors (Acoustica, WaveLab, Adobe Audition, GoldWave, etc) handle delays correctly, as described above. So nothing is truncated, and nothing is shifted.

But, at the same time, other audio editors, such as Ocenaudio and Wavosaur, seem to ignore the delay entirely, which results in shifting and truncation Crying or Very sad

So it would be great if the developer of Wavosaur could fix this problem...

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MuldeR



Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To make this problem more clear, hopefully, I have created some GIF animations:
Wavosaur v1.1.0.0 VST Problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MuldeR



Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2014 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MuldeR wrote:
To make this problem more clear, hopefully, I have created some GIF animations:
Wavosaur v1.1.0.0 VST Problem


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rex
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 796

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes this is in the "todo list", but with a very very low priority.
as "poivre" said, the workaround is easy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MuldeR



Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rex wrote:
yes this is in the "todo list", but with a very very low priority.
as "poivre" said, the workaround is easy.


Thanks for reply. Any news yet Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MuldeR



Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MuldeR wrote:
Rex wrote:
yes this is in the "todo list", but with a very very low priority.
as "poivre" said, the workaround is easy.


Thanks for reply. Any news yet Question


Bump! Four months later, any news?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wavosaur Forum Index -> VST plugins talk All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Other topics :





Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group