Wavosaur home Wavosaur
Wavosaur free audio editor support forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

What is the difference between VOLUME and NORMALIZE ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wavosaur Forum Index -> General
 
Author Message
piu_tyain



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:45 am    Post subject: What is the difference between VOLUME and NORMALIZE ? Reply with quote

What is the difference between volume and normalize?
I have plenty of file with different volume, i want them to have all the same level which is preferable to achieve a better result ?
grateful for any advice.

Piu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toxonic



Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Location: germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can do this with the batch processor in wavosaur using the normalize function:
- open wavosaur
- in the menue choose "Tools" > "Batch processor"

a new window should appear now, where you can choose the source folder (containing the files you want to process) and a destination folder (where the processed file should be saved to)!
note that wavosaur is only able to save to wav files, so if you choose mp3 files as source files, the processed files will be wav files. if you want them to be mp3's, you have to encode them again after normalizing....

- after choosing the source/destination folder you select "Normalize 0dB" under "Function"
- hit the "Run" button

now the volume of all files in the sourcefolder will be raised to the maximum peak level and saved to the destination folder to wav format!

p.s.: to the wavosaur developers - RMS algorithm for normalizing would be a good idea!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
piu_tyain



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much toxonic !!, will try that Very Happy
so i have to choose "normalize" , what is RMS normalize ? is it better ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toxonic



Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Location: germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my english is not so good enough to describe it.... RMS means "Root Means Square" , you can find a hole description here:
-http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Root_mean_square

two different soundfiles with same level needn't have the same "louness" depending on the compression degree of the soundfiles - the RMS method calculates a mean score of the hole soundfile as base for the normalization process. the peak method only normalizes the file depending on his highest peak impulse.
therefore the rms method is better to adapt the "loudness" (not the max. level in dB) of two or more soundfiles to each other!
hope you understood my description, my english is quite poor, sorry.... Laughing


Last edited by toxonic on Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 474
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I note your idea Toxonic for Normalize RMS.
Good!
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
piu_tyain



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks guys, i'll dig into this RMS normalize, thanks for the hints. I tried the method batch procesor + normalize 0db , it works well for me!! Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rex
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 792

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Piu you can also set up a limiter VST plugin in the VST rack, and then use batch processor to apply the effect (choose "VST chain" in the list).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toxonic



Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Location: germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, yes - that's a good compromise, although it's not the same like RMS normalization, where the waveform of the signal doesn't change through processing. the limiter changes the waveform by cutting off peak impulses.
if you have no experience in using dynamic processores you can easily make your files to waste! so keep in mind, always to keep a copy of the original!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jonty



Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 10:27 am    Post subject: There is a freeware called MP3Gain Reply with quote

MP3Gain does what you want to do, normalize your MP3 files. From what I understand it is even more sophisticated than RMS normalization.

MP3Gain is specifically designed as a batch processor, is quite fast and runs in the background very well.

I use MP3Gain to normalize all my files before I submit them to Wavosaur and it works very well for me.

http://mp3gain.sourceforge.net/
_________________
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard Feynman-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wavosaur Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Other topics :





Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group