Wavosaur home Wavosaur
Wavosaur free audio editor support forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Unable to create recording file

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wavosaur Forum Index -> General
 
Author Message
mpek



Joined: 25 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 1:21 pm    Post subject: Unable to create recording file Reply with quote

After hitting record button error message appears:

Code:
Unable to create recording file


I have version 1.2 on Windows 10 Home and placed it in "Program files\Wavosaur"

I resetted wavosaur settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Could you please try to copy the exe file in another directory like c:\temp or something like that to check if it is a problem of rights?

Thanks
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mpek



Joined: 25 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a topic of rights! What's an elegant solution in this case?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if it works, try to create a new repertory in c: like c:\Wavosaur and create shortcut to your desktop or your program files directory.

Wavosaur use the path where it is stored to create all temporary files (undo, vst list, ini/cfg and .rec files).
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mpek



Joined: 25 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I'm using the old workaround to start a Application as an Administrator and leave it where it should stay. Then I'm able to change settings or to record.
I'm no programmer and I don't know why this is the case with Wavosaur, when other Applications are able to do such a thing...perhaps you can bring light to it?

Even though, thank you for Wavosaur and the latest update!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lot's of applications have (bad) installer and detect the different users directory. We did the choice to avoid installer to let the final user setup where he wants the exe file. So If you want for example duplicate your directory it's always possible (with different settings and so on). It's not a limitation of Wavosaur, but a real limitation of the OS. The users would be able to change what he wants on their computer!

It's not planed to develop an installer for Wavosaur, comdamning use on USB stick for example...
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mpek



Joined: 25 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you perhaps know how to avoid having to confirm that I want to start Wavosaur everytime I start Wavosaur now? Without deactivating UAC?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I don't understand your request.
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mpek



Joined: 25 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

everytime i start wavosaur with the method mentioned above, I get a requester from user access control, if I really want to start the program. It's not possible to make a screenshot...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah. Perhaps right clicking on the wavosaur exe icon file selecting "opne as administrator" or something like that.
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mpek



Joined: 25 Aug 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is what I did in the first place to be able to record...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arrrg
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ChairmanOfTheBored



Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mpek wrote:
I'm using the old workaround to start a Application as an Administrator and leave it where it should stay.


The Wavosaur folder shouldn't be placed in Program Files; put it in your Documents folder, or C:\Wavosaur as was suggested by Main Dev.

mpek wrote:
I'm no programmer and I don't know why this is the case with Wavosaur, when other Applications are able to do such a thing...perhaps you can bring light to it?


Windows doesn't let a limited account make modifications to folders that are in Program Files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okayyyyyy
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wavosaur Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Other topics :





Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group