Wavosaur home Wavosaur
Wavosaur free audio editor support forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Wavosaur 64bit cannot start - application error

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wavosaur Forum Index -> Bug Report
 
Author Message
geoslake



Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:55 am    Post subject: Wavosaur 64bit cannot start - application error Reply with quote

Hi

Im using windows 10 ltsb n (so no media stuff / codecs in case it matters) and cannot start wavosaur 64bit version (32bit works fine).
This happened in 1.1 and still happens in 1.2.
Message is :
The instruction at 0x00007FF6B39F7203 referenced memory at 0x0000000000000000... The memory could not be read.

I have 8gb of ram and 6.5 is free, but virtual memory is disabled.

Thanks

p.s. thanks a million for 1.2 !!! (hope we will have more shortcuts soon, esp fade in/out, which i use all the time)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

If I understand, you double click on the x64 ex file and you have this message?

Could you send us a screenshot please?
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
geoslake



Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick support, yes, i click on the exe

here you go :

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok thanks.

Could you confirm that this x64 exe is alone in a folder? (without .cfg .ini .keys files)?

What is your conf: asio? windows? x64/x32 (I think x64 Wink )
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
geoslake



Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, i get the same crash on a clean run, with nothing in the folder.
Windows 10 x64.
Asio ? Does it matter as it crashes with no cfg ?
I have a tascam us366.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes if there is no cfg or ini, by default the audio driver is the Windows multi media one. Wavosaur doesn't start with ASIO.

Very strange pb. I have the same config, Win10 x64 and no crash. It's a type out of memory bug.
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
geoslake



Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 6:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just ran a memory tester, 2 passes, found nothing.
Guess I can live with the 32bit version, but still...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wavosaur Main Developer
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, it's not problem of your PC RAM, but a problem of Null pointer inside the code or bad memory allocation...

Very difficult to find.
_________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wavosaur Main Developer
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.wavosaur.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
geoslake



Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Argh okay Sad
Fingers crossed then !

Ive got 8gigs of ram btw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wavosaur Forum Index -> Bug Report All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Other topics :





Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group