Wavosaur home Wavosaur
Wavosaur free audio editor support forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

VST effect applied with wrong settings

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wavosaur Forum Index -> VST plugins talk
 
Author Message
beatsbyforce



Joined: 27 Jul 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:30 pm    Post subject: VST effect applied with wrong settings Reply with quote

I am having a little trouble figuring out why this happens. I am using Rubberfilter to apply a low cut at around 50hz. I use the plugin's interface to set the cutoff frequency and it works until I hit apply. Wavosaur applies the effect using its default settings for the plugin which in this case results in a low cut at 100Hz.

Any help with this will be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rex
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 796

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
What is the value of the samplerate in Wavosaur settings (audio configuration panel) ? and what is the samplerate of the file you process ?

If this is a free plugins i'll be able to do some test and find out what's wrong,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beatsbyforce



Joined: 27 Jul 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

The file is 32bit 96k, the wavosaur samplerate is 44.1k. The plugin is free:

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=183141

Looks like the opposite was happening, I was setting the cutoff while looking at an analyser. I failed to notice that I had set the cutoff to roughly 100Hz to achieve an actual cut at 50Hz, when I applied the effect, the cut was made at 100Hz so the error is in the preview. The values are always half those shown on the plugin interface while previewing but correct when the effect is applied.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.A.W.



Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 72
Location: hamburg | de

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

afaik christian uses delphi to code his plugins.

i found that some delphi plugins (e.g. dblue glitch) also got problems with automation parameters in ableton live 8, so it could be the same in wavosaur.

i got no deeper knowledge about the problems, though.
_________________
ThinkPad T500,Core 2 Duo T9600 (2x2,8GHz)/3GB RAM/Radeon HD3650/FireWire 410/WinXP SP3 32bit
AMD Phenom II X4 3.2GHz/4GB RAM/GeForce GTX460/ESI U24 XL/Win7 x64
Ableton Live 8/energyXT2/APC40/MPKmini/LaunchPad/TriggerFinger
http://www.bitmud.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rex
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 796

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may be a bug, we have changed many times the code for the VST processing and i think it's laying here

Quote:
The file is 32bit 96k, the wavosaur samplerate is 44.1k


try to set Wavosaur samplerate at 96k and do the processing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beatsbyforce



Joined: 27 Jul 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok,

I actually didn't make a mistake in the beginning.

The first time, I was using 44k and the controls on the plugin matched the results on the analyser while previewing. When I hit apply, all values were doubled (due to the samplerate difference).

When I tested it a second time, it was with Wavosaur set to 96k and it resulted in the preview error I described in my last post.

Now, after a restart and having Wavosaur set to 96k, things work as expected.

I think that in my second test, there must have been a problem caused by my PC which was resolved when I rebooted.


Thanks very much for your help.

Is it intentional that Wavosaur does not adjust it's samplerate according to the file it is processing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wavosaur Forum Index -> VST plugins talk All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Other topics :





Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group